Although edibles are legal in some states, the criminal penalties a person faces for possession of an illicit drug depends on the amount of the drug in possession.
Usually, the greater the amount of the drug you allegedly possess, the bigger the penalties.
Possession of fewer than two ounces of marihuana is a Class B misdemeanor and possession of 2-4 ounces is a Class A misdermeanor.
Possession of any amount greater than four ounces is a felony offense. Distribution of greater than a quarter of an ounce (or seven grams) is also a felony offense.
But, THC edibles aren’t penalized the same way as “marijuana flowers” or the physical plant material.
THC concentrates like hash wax or oil, the substance contained in marijuana edibles are classified in drug penalty group two.
Possession of drugs in this penalty group is penalized more harshly. Possession of less than 1 gram of THC concentrate can attract state jail felony charges.
State jail felonies are punishable by 180 days – 2 years and a fine of up to $10,000.
Possession of 1-4 grams of a THC concentrate is a third-degree felony punishable by up to 10 years in prison. If you are caught with 4-400 grams of THC concentrates, you face second-degree felony charges and up to 20 years in prison.
Possession of more than 400 grams, or just under a pound, of THC concentrates is a first-degree felony punishable by five to 99 years in prison and a maximum fine of $50,000.
Can You Be Arrested For Carrying Marijuana Edibles?
It depends on what state you’re in, who prescribed it for you, and where you got it from.
In California for instance, marijuana was legalized in April 2016 for patients diagnosed with a long list of qualifying conditions.
Now, there are specific rules that apply to this use, including getting a prescription from a specially certified physician and buying it from an authorized dispensary.
For those not qualified, possession of any marijuana type, in any quantity or form, has the potential of leading to an arrest.
What Happens If You Get Caught With Edibles in Philadelphia?
The city of Philadelphia has decriminalized possessing small amounts – though marijuana is always illegal on a federal basis.
There are several different offenses that you can be charged with if found in possession of marijuana.
- Simple possession
- Possession of a small amount of marijuana
- Possession with intent to deliver
What Happens if You Get Caught With Edibles in Vegas or Nevada?
It is legal to buy cannabis in Nevada since July 2017. However, you need to be at least 21 years of age or older and may only purchase up to one ounce of cannabis flower, or one-eighth of an ounce of either edibles or cannabis concentrates per visit.
In simple words, you may legally possess one ounce of cannabis or 1/8th ounce of other cannabis products.
But, possession of more than 1 ounce is still a felony under Nevada state law. Plus, it is still illegal for anyone under the age of 21 to buy or possess cannabis unless they own a medical marijuana card.
Medical marijuana cardholders may purchase up to two and one-half ounces every two weeks.
Nevada is unique in that unlike some other states, Nevada dispensaries sell both recreational and medical cannabis from the same inventory. Medical marijuana cardholders are sometimes eligible for discounts between ten and twenty percent.
Places you can Consume Edibles or Cannabis in Vegas
- Private Homes, including porches and yards.
Places you cannot Consume Edibles or Cannabis in Vegas
restaurants, parks, concerts, and on other federal properties including natural forest and federally subsidized housing. And yes, unfortunately, this includes Burning Man.
State gambling regulators have directed Nevada casinos to abide by federal laws, which still outlaw cannabis. Getting caught using cannabis in public, especially edibles could cost you. First offenders for public cannabis consumption can expect at least a $600 ticket.
What Happens If You Get Caught with Edibles At Las Vegas Airport?
If you’re caught with the legally allowed amount and you’re 21 years or older, you’ll be fine. Otherwise, you will be charged and could face jail time.
Nevada law requires that cannabis edibles approved for legal recreational sale contain no more than 100mg per product, and they are normally portioned into 10 mg servings.
This is supposed to help Nevada cannabis users determine dosages without having to guess what the outcome will be. And it’s a great idea. However, some users that are exceptionally sensitive to the effects of THC may want to start with an even smaller dose than 10mg.
Lastly, you must be age 21 or older.
What Happens If You Get Caught with Marijuana Edibles In Texas?
You may suffer felony criminal charges and even 10 years behind bars since it is illegal in Texas.
In Texas, cannabis or “weed” is illegal except in extremely limited circumstances. This includes all edibles and products containing the psychoactive component THC (tetrahydrocannabinol). Cookies, candy, brownies, and other products containing THC concentrates are typically penalized more harshly than marijuana and may lead to felony criminal charges and even decades behind bars.
What Happens If You Get Caught with Edibles In California?
You’ll be fine as far as the marijuana quantity in the edibles is not more than one ounce of dried marijuana or 8 grams of concentrated cannabis.
California allows its residents who are aged 21 or older to possess up to one ounce of dried marijuana or 8 grams of concentrated cannabis.
Edibles — food products that contain marijuana — are subject to the same marijuana laws.
ALSO SEE: What Happened To Robert Frank?
Punishment for Edibles In California
If the edibles contain far more than the marijuana content permitted by law, then you may be charged with a misdemeanor offense and punished by up to 6 months in county jail and/or a fine of up to $500.
Getting caught with a significant number of edibles will get you charged with possession with intent to sell if you lack a state and local license to sell marijuana.
For most people, possession for sale without a license is a misdemeanor offense, punishable by up to 6 months in county jail and/or a fine of up to $500. If you have certain prior convictions, including 2 or more convictions for possession with intent to sell marijuana, then it will be charged as a felony.
What happens If You Get Caught With Edibles At Denver Airport?
Denver International Airport will just make you throw it away if you get caught.. Although Pot is legal under Colorado law, it’s still illegal under federal law, and air travel is a federal jurisdiction. This means that you can be arrested and charged under federal law if the pot is found by federal agents.
What Happens If You Get Caught With Edibles At School?
Students caught with edibles at school will face:
- Suspension or
These disciplinary offenses will leave a mark on a student’s permanent record.